A New Day & A New Year

I’ll start off by saying Happy New Year to all my friends and family who read this little blog.

Some of you I know face to face, and some are new friends that I have met through WordPress. I think that’s cool! You all inspire me 🙂

Well, the new year starts tomorrow and of course I have mixed feelings. At times I dread change (although I am getting better) and a new year is in a way change.

This past year was okay.. not the easiest year, but not the worst either. I’m curious to know what 2014 will bring.

DSC_2754
The past 6 weeks have been honestly very difficult for me. I didn’t enjoy any time leading up to the holiday and work was crazy, it was just all too much. As an introvert, I need my quiet/reflection time. And the more stressful the situation, the more I need it. As you can imagine, I didn’t really get that. I’m not surprised, but it really took a toll on me.

I am now enjoying a week off of work and time away from the computer, which I desperately needed. I needed some time to recharge and recover if you will.

DSC_2742
I always make goals and tasks for myself.. like personal goals, work goals, fitness goals… and I also make yearly goals as well. So here are my 2014 Goals or a To-Do List.. or something like that:

Run a 5K
I work out at least 3 days each week, but thought this would be a different kind of challenge. I’ve always been more of a sprinter, but I feel I am in good enough shape to tackle this.. it will be good mental stimulation if anything.

Read 12 Books
I don’t make time to read and I am more of a researcher than anything. I get bored really easy, so the book needs to be very visually stimulating for my mind. So there you go. I’m starting with The Hobbit.

Give More/Expect Less
We always have more to give, whether it be our talents or time or money.
I don’t want to get that entitlement attitude that so many people have these days. I think giving, will curve that.

Write Handwritten Letters
Communication is so shallow these days. We text, we email, Facebook to everyone. Besides a Christmas card, when is the last time someone sent you a hand written letter? Doesn’t it make you feel special to open it and take the time to sit down to read it? I just think it’s thoughtful and it will also cause me to take the time to pause and reflect.

Develop a Riding Horse
Charm is my horse. I’ve had her for almost 11 years and now we can do anything together. It’s really time I started to learn from another equine at the farm. Not that I will stop riding Charm, but this will be in addition.

Go to a Show
I haven’t been to a good concert for a long time. And I don’t mean sitting in assigned seats… I spent much of my late teens and early 20s at every ska/punk/rock/blues concerts that came to the area. I do not make the effort anymore and I really miss it. It’s time to let loose and remember what it felt like to be 17 again 😉

DSC_2738
So there it is. Wish me luck!
Happy New Year everyone! See you in 2014 😀

2 thoughts on “A New Day & A New Year

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

