Photography Update

I feel like I’ve neglected to keep this blog up to date lately. Although it’s not intentional it just shows that life has gotten in the way. I’m still here!

I’m trying to think back to when I actually wrote an update and it fear it’s been a while.

Anyway. It’s November now and getting colder and darker outside all the leaves are falling and we’re staring winter in the face.

But thinking back, some fun things have happened over the past few months. I bought a new camera that I am really starting to enjoy. I ended up getting the Nikon D7100 and I am really happy with my decision. I kept going back and forth between getting a full frame camera and this one. Well, for what I want photograph, this just made more sense.

I also got a new lens. I ended up getting the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8. I decided to go with Tokina because it was half the price of a Nikon lens, and had as good, if not better reviews. This lens is heavy and made of metal. It’s been somewhat of a learning curve, but I am getting the hang of it. I’ll be able to do some unique photographs as well as great indoor stuff. Think Christmas morning when you want to get a picture of all the action.. this lens will cover the whole room and is fast so it’s great in low light.

Below are some straight from camera images I took while using the Tokina 11-16mm.

I’ve started to take more pictures for people and I like it a lot. I don’t want it to become a “job” however. I want to keep it an artistic outlet and fun. So if I get one or two photo shoots a month, I will be happy. I really want to focus on people with their horses, but have done some family shoots and a couple weddings.

My next lens purchase I think is going to be a Nikon 135mm f/2 DC. You can read about it here. This portrait lens would be amazing to have. Right now I shoot most everything with my 50mm. I am so comfortable with it. I know going from 50mm to 135mm is a big jump, but I would guess it would be sort of the same thing. I mostly shoot outside, so I have room to back up and plenty of good light. It would be great for horses too! Plus, once Nikon stops producing this lens, it’s value will increase. So it’s an investment… right? Right!! I must have one!!

So keep your eye out for more pictures. I’m always reading and learning and trying to improve my technique. Practice, practice, practice!

2 thoughts on “Photography Update

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

