Why I Quit Facebook

I’ve been contemplating it for a while now.

Last week I officially took the “red pill” and deactivated my account.

It’s a strange feeling knowing I don’t “exist” in that world anymore.

So many things about Facebook annoyed me, but I always made an excuse to keep on going. To see the pictures of my family. To keep up with my friends that live 100s of miles away.

But lately the bad started to outweigh the good. I got sick of the advertisements. The useless game requests. The empty posts that some people made. It was just a waste of my time to read it. It wasn’t benefiting me or enriching my mind.

I would find myself looking at it way too often on my phone. It was a habit. Something I just did without thinking.

I also want to simplify my life and get rid of the clutter and extra “stuff” that is crowding my brain. Facebook (for me) falls in that category.

I value a good conversation. I like to lend an ear to my friends and listen to their news, good or bad. I felt that Facebook took that away from me. There was no new news anymore. All I would have to do is look at Facebook and there it was.

This is the typical conversation Adam and I would have most evenings regarding such news.

Adam: “Did you hear about so-and-so’s new –”

Me: “Car? Yeah, I saw that on Facebook.”

Conversation over.

My point is, I think we are robbing ourselves of good conversations. And I really don’t want to know everything that is going on.

Another thing I think about… will our children know how to communicate properly? Or will they just beΒ narcissistic social networking gurus with poor grammar and bad spelling? Only time will tell and I’m going to try to set a good example.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

