Meeting Baby Zoey

I was delighted to have the opportunity to photograph a brand new baby today.

Meet baby Zoey! She’s one week old and is she a sweetie pie! DSC_2755DSC_2761DSC_2752DSC_2725DSC_2764DSC_2716DSC_2747DSC_2736DSC_2737After this shoot, I have to say that taking baby pictures is hard! Something I definitely need to practice doing. Luckily there will be babies galore to photograph in the next couple years (I’m at that age.. everyone is having babies).

For these photographs, I used natural light with my 50mm lens. I think they turned out pretty good. I felt very competent with my camera today. Since I had to work fast, I didn’t have time to think about my settings, so with a couple of test shots for lighting, off we went.

I was also happy to notice that I hardly had to adjust the image as “RAW” for this shoot. They looked pretty good right out of the camera. Just a little color correction and obviously some black and white processing and they were done.

As for posing goes.. well, I’ll have to work on that. It’s hard to “practice” on a baby, since time is so limited. Through this session I learned a lot and I’m sure things will go even smoother next time.

Thanks for looking!

4 thoughts on “Meeting Baby Zoey

  1. For one, that diaper is killing me, I think i need one. Two, very lovely shots. I love natural light and I also love the Papillon(throwing out some fancy French”) in your watermark.

    • Thanks! I made the diaper cover lastnight and it really worked well. Better than just an ugly diaper.

      I love the papillon too! When thinking of a watermark, it was a no brainer πŸ™‚

  2. OMG! i am drying tears after looking at my beautiful granddaughters. You captured Zoey so very wonderfully. God bless you and your talents. Kylie looks so proud holding her baby sister. Thank you.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

