iPhonography Monday: Macro

This week was somewhat of a challenge for me. I can already see this is going to stretch my photo taking abilities each week. I’ve noticed that I ALWAYS gravitate toward taking pictures of living things. Whether it be a child, dog, horse, bug, plant, you name it!

This week’s theme is Macro and I’ve come up with something somewhat abstract. Can you guess what this is??

20130211-125541.jpg

Well, if you guessed an empty jug of sangria on my deck that is sitting out in the rainy/snowy awful weather we’re having, you’d be correct!

Macro photo taking with the iPhone is challenging because it requires you and your subject to be very still. I had several other ideas for this week, but most of my subjects were either moving at their own will or it was too windy outside.

I used Snapseed for this image. I am happy with the various color tones from the greenish blue hue of the glass to the remaining sangria at the bottom of the jug. I also like the pretty rain drops and how crisp they look resting on the glass.

I created another version of this picture, but decided it was over worked and seemed to loose focus and direction. I want the image to be interesting, but not confusing to the eye. I think this one looks crisp and to the point.

If you’d like to join in the fun please check out these blogs for more macro images and the challenge details!

Watching the Photo Reels
Lens & Pens by Sally
Frames & Focus

Thanks for looking!

Heidi

12 thoughts on “iPhonography Monday: Macro

  1. Thanks for joining the challenge, Heidi. I agree, taking macro shots on the iPhone really is very challenging but you did quite well on this one. I also love how the image has an abstract feel to it. Well done!

  2. Gorgeous!! I love the abstract shot of the jug! I was thinking it had to he some sort of glass, but I love that its a sangria jug! It’s a beautiful shot and you should be proud! I love that is reflective of weather as well. Great work!! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: iPhoneography Monday: Macro « Frames & Focus

    • Thank you! And I love pintos too.. The one in the header is my horse. You have some great pictures. I’ll never get tired of photographing horses. πŸ™‚

      • Same here! Horses are by far my favorite subjects. Sadly, I lost my pinto in July so I’m horseless right now but waiting for the right one to come along again. It’s great that you’ve had your horse for so long. You all look wonderful together!

        • So sorry that you lost your horse last year. The right one will come along.. and it will be worth the wait. I hope you’re able to get your horse fix in the meantime. I’m sure the photos help too!

  4. Pingback: iPhoneography Challenge: Macro Photography | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

