A Great Connection

It was a cool brisk morning when I got to the barn this morning to see my horse. Her winter coat is well on its way in and the summer hair just keeps shedding with each stroke of the brush. Just ask my fleece jacket.. Everything seems to stick to fleece.

I haven’t seen Charm since our Washington Island trip. So she’s had two full weeks to gain back the few pounds she may have lost on our trip, oh well.

It was cold, but I decided to suck it up and spend some time in the round pen to practice some new liberty techniques I started experimenting with about 6 weeks ago. Today was our third session playing around, and surprisingly Charm improved.. Or maybe I improved? Well either way, it was good.

20121006-221426.jpg

Being cold, Charm was a little spunky and threw a few bucks and kicks in for good measure. I couldn’t help but laugh at her as I watched her express herself.

20121006-221628.jpg

After she got over the kicking and bucking, she tuned in and I was able to have a conversation with her. I tried to keep it positive and say yes as much as possible and told her how wonderful she was when she connected and ran to me.

20121006-222047.jpg
I’d say she’d willingly come to the center of the pen to meet me about 80% of the time which is a big improvement. I was also able to ask for the figure eight at the walk, trot and canter. I may have even gotten one flying change! Hooray for enthusiasm!

20121006-222403.jpg

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

