Cropping

I was looking at one of the pictures from the last post and decided I didn’t make the best decision when cropping it (goes to show I shouldn’t do these things right before bed when I’m tired).

After thinking about it, I decided to re-crop. I like this perspective much better.

What do you think?

I think it obviously causes your eye to focus on the feel of the horses. Rather than being distracted by the other “unimportant” things in the picture.

When I’m doing graphic design (my day job) I’ll play around with my design until my eye feels good about it. I want there to be a path that it follows, that also makes sense. I want the message I’m trying to convey to be easily read in a very short time. I don’t want anyone to have to study my design to try to figure out what the point of the design is.

I guess the same goes for photography. The picture above causes you to focus on the relationship between the two horses. The one below has too many distractions. And the moment is lost.

5 thoughts on “Cropping

  1. The top one is more intense…due to the behaviors being shown. But I still like the bottom one. It just has a different focus. I love all the different/similar colors contrasting. It makes you look a bit and I like photos like that. We have to slow down and look at all the things we miss! Maybe that is something I need to do more in life overall! So BOTH FANTASTIC in my opinion! Plus, good subject matter-yep, I am biased! 🙂

    • I like your thinking Jackie. Just like a Bev Doolittle painting where you have to really look to see the horses and other animals. Not that you can’t see these two obviously, but the original version does cause you to pause.

  2. The second cropping puts the viewer’s focus where it should be – on the behaviour of the two horses, rather than on the tail of the chestnut horse in the previous version. Also, the negative space around the horses is much more interesting. Good call. The overexposure leaves the viewer unsure where the edges are. The pinto’s pattern make interesting shapes that blend into the background. I think the horizontal dark of the fence, and the building behind might work better if it were toned down and more unfocused, to become background entirely and create depth? Right now it is the darkest dark in the picture. We’d still need to see it as fence, to give context to the story you’re telling. It might be fun to play with that, and see if it works or not.
    xxx

    • Great idea! I see where you’re going with this. In my mind, it would have been ideal if there were negative space all around these two. But I think a viewer can relate to the fence and story as well. I’ll see if I can find some time to play around with the fence.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

