The Joy of Cooking Curry

Lately I’ve been experimenting with Indian cuisine. I started watching Aarti Party on the Food Network and she got me hooked. My latest experiment was her Chicken Tikka Masala.

You start by placing raw chicken in a yogurt, garlic and ginger marinade. Then set it aside.

You will then focus on the sauce. Butter, oil, garlic, ginger and serrano peppers start it off.

Then you add tomato paste and spices (garam masala and paprika) and saute letting the flavors mingle. Then fresh romaΒ  tomatoes are added with some water. Bring it to a boil.

Your house should be smelling amazing right about now. Let it simmer for 20 minutes and fire up the grill. Grill the chicken at a high heat until it’s charred on both sides. It doesn’t have to be cooked through because if it will finish cooking in the sauce later.

After the sauce has simmered, scoop it into the food processor or blender and blend together. Then add it back to the sauce pan with the chicken and other finishing touches.

Simmer for 10 more minutes, add some cream and serve over basmati rice with a little cilantro garnish.

We really liked this one. It took about 40 minutes from start to finish.

I just love making this stuff from scratch! Then I know what exactly is in it. You can find the recipe here.

Let me know if you make it!

3 thoughts on “The Joy of Cooking Curry

  1. It’s delicious. I tried her Beef Vindaloo too and liked the Tikka Masala better. In my opinion this one is a keeper.

    The first time around I made my own version of garam masala. I just mixed together cinnamon, pepper, nutmeg, cumin and cardamom. It worked.

    Since then I found garam masala at Woodmans. It’s by the Indian food across from all the rice in the Asian food isle.

  2. Oh and as far as how it tastes..

    It has some heat to it, but not too much (I took the seeds out of the peppers).. it’s also a little sweet. The cream adds a nice touch. It has all the strong yummy curry flavors.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

