I’ll call it.. “Charm and the Wind”

I’ve recently been inspired to draw again by my friend Amelia. She creates the cutest little digital drawings of dogs and horses. Click here to see her creations. I spend way too much time on the computer as it is, so I’d rather draw the traditional way.

Here is my first attempt (after seriously not drawing for 6 or 7 years). I am pleased with how it turned out considering I haven’t practiced. It’s all in pencil. And I don’t think I’ve done a pencil drawing since 2001.


I can look at it now and of course see all my mistakes and parts that aren’t done but decided it was “gudenuff”. I am interested in learning the art of graphite drawing. I love the detail.


What doesn’t help is that the picture is a little fuzzy and also that I was referencing it on my little 2.5in iPod screen.Β  Also I need a pencil sharpener.. most of my pencils were dull and worn down. So next time I’ll work from a better picture that is much larger and have sharp pencils. πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “I’ll call it.. “Charm and the Wind”

  1. It’s a good beginning, Heidi. The shading is nice in defining the muscles, and you’ve captured the feeling of movement. I like that you darkened the background by the mane and lightened it where the horse is dark. That’s a nice use of contrast. You need to get your eye back in, so you’re drawing what’s there rather than what you think you know. A good way to do this is by measuring the elements of your drawing against the photo. Also, try looking at the drawing in a mirror. Keep practicing – you are good.

    • Thanks Aunt Mary, I will try those things. I have another picture picked out that shows a lot more detail. I plan to take my time with it and see how much closer I can get. Since I’m using pencils, would it be wise to convert the picture to black and white? To help me see the contrast in tones and shading? I put the picture above in the mirror and I see what you mean. Great tips!

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

