Wyatt has arrived!

Sorry for my absence.. the past week has been insane.

Wyatt Robert was born Monday, June 14th at 7:02am. He was 3 pounds 10 ounces and 17 inches long.

Long story short, I went into labor on Sunday evening. I really didn’t think I was in labor and tried to go to sleep. After tossing and turning until 2am.. I called the nurse and she put me on the monitor. Sure enough.. contractions… about 5 minutes apart. To better monitor me, they wheeled my bed back to Labor and Delivery and hooked me up to and IV, hoping to slow the contractions down. But they just kept getting stronger and stronger. I even experienced a nasty burning feeling on my hips with each one. Finally around 5:30am, I couldn’t take it anymore and asked for some Nubain to take the edge off. It helped enough that I felt I could “rest” for the few minutes in between. Then about an hour later.. I felt pressure. They hadn’t checked to see if I was dilated because my Doctor wanted to do a sterile check when she got there. But once I felt the pressure, the nurse decided to check me because my Doctor was still 15 minutes away. Sure enough, I was completely dilated. So for the next 15 minutes I couldn’t push and I HAD to hold him in. That was SO hard .. but we managed. After three pushes he was born. He came out screaming his head off and I was surprised with how big he was. My mental image had been a much smaller baby. He was cleaned up and he was held out in front of me for a few seconds before being hurried down the hall to the NICU.

This past week has felt longer than the whole 60 days I spent in the hospital.. in fact, I hardly remember being in the hospital. Wyatt is doing well. He was put on a CPAP to aid his breathing. He didn’t need the ventilator, but still needed a little help. On Wednesday morning, his Doctor decided to put him on the ventilator to give him a dose of surfactant to help his lungs inflate. He was only on the vent for 6 hours and as a result his breathing improved drastically. Yesterday he came off the CPAP and is breathing room air. They started feeding him last Thursday and increased his feedings everyday. Yesterday they were getting some yucky green stuff out of his tummy. So they have stopped the feedings for a day or two to let his tummy and bowels settle. It looks good now and they plan to start feeding again tomorrow. He is also pooping a lot of meconium and the x-rays show that his bowels are fine and the meconium is almost all gone.

I’ve been asked how long he’ll be in the NICU. We don’t know. The things that need to happen in order for him to come home are breathing (check!), proper eating and digestion, and maintaining his own body temperature. These things all take a while and when he starts gaining weight, I’m guessing the extra fat will aid the body temp progress etc. Also, once he gets the eating down, they’ll try to stimulate the bottle feeding and work on the suck and swallow reflexes. Right now he’s fed through a tube in his nose and eventually he’ll be fed by bottle and we’ll try nursing. We’ve been able to hold him and kangaroo once each day. He really likes the kangaroo time.. Click here if you’re not familiar with Kangaroo Care. Adam and I are usually up at the hospital twice a day so we are running around quite a bit.

And how am I doing? Pretty good. The first few days were really hard as I was getting used to being vertical again after spending 60 days total on bed rest in the hospital. I was VERY weak and every muscle in my body was extremely sore. My joints also ached quite a bit. Now, I’m a lot stronger, but do tire easily and it’s good for me to lay down and rest a couple of times a day. I am pumping too.. so I’m having to get up at night to do that. But it’s going well.

Your continued prayers are appreciated! Please pray that Wyatt will have success with eating that that he’ll start gaining weight. That he will not get sick or have an infection and that he’ll also grow bigger and stronger each day. And that he will not feel stressed and will thrive in his little incubator.

So here he is! He had just gotten the CPAP off and some other stuff so he was really tired. I’ll post more pictures soon.

4 thoughts on “Wyatt has arrived!

  1. Heidi,

    I’m so glad to hear the good news that Wyatt is doing well. He’s a beautiful baby and God has a special plan for his life.

    Now the real fun begins, so take some advice from one caregiver to another: Be sure to take care of yourself first so you can be strong to take care of him when he comes home. Get your rest whenever you can, and don’t feel guilty if you can’t get up to the hospital as often as you like. Soon you’ll be with him 24/7.

    Praying for all of you.
    Love,
    Aunt Kathy

  2. Oh wow!
    Glad to hear you are doing well and yes, rest up and get your strength back! He’s a cutie and it could be the angle of the pic but he looks a healthy size for a premie. Not that I much of anything about baby’s but he looks strong and full of life!

    XD What’s Fiona going to think when you bring him home!

    Grow strong little Wyatt!

    Congrats again to you guys! ❤

  3. Congratulations!! Mom had called us. Your baby looks wonderful considering everything the two of you have been through. St V’s is the best place for your baby, from experience, I was amazed at the wonderful care given. Take care of yourself at this time.

    Wyatt is a little miracle.

  4. Congratulations to you both!! I am so happy for you! He is very cute and sounds like he is doing pretty well. I will continue to pray he starts eating good and gains weight so you can take him home soon. I can’t wait to see you both soon when things calm down.
    Toni
    PS-What a neat name-Wyatt!!

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

