5 Weeks or 840 Hours

Today is 5 weeks and the 35th day in the hospital. I’m almost half way through this journey. If I make it to July 5th.. that will be 80 total days. That seems like a lot, so I’m glad that I’m already on Day 35.

Let’s see.. what’s new that I can share..

I had the standard glucose screening yesterday and my results were “elevated”. So starting today and through the weekend I have to eat very balanced diet and they will do a 3 hour screening on Monday to see if I really have Gestational Diabetes. At this point, I don’t really care if I have it (although, I’d rather not). It will be a lot easier to control my diet while in the hospital and when you look at the big picture.. it’s minor and nothing to get upset over. I spoke with the Dietitian yesterday and she explained to me what I should be eating for the weekend.. pretty much what I have been eating (except for my Sunday evening Dove bar.. mmmmm).

It’s finally nice outside and I’m thinking that maybe I’ll go out one of these days. I’m envisioning sipping my morning coffee while on the patio below my room. That would be nice. One of my nurses suggested that she would roll my bed to the patio and I could sit down there as long as I wanted to. I could even tan! Technically, I’d still be on “bed rest”. We’ll see. It’s going to be WAY too hot this weekend to sit in the sun, especially considering I keep my room cool.. I don’t think I could handle +80˚.

My wonderful mother planted my veggie garden for me this past week. Since my dad put in a sprinkler system, it will be easy for Adam to water. He just needs to turn on the hose and let it water its self. It’s not going to be the salsa garden I was thinking, but there will still be a lot of good stuff. She planted a Roma Tomato, Yellow Grape Tomato, Green, Orange and Red Peppers, Banana Pepper, Yellow Wax Beans, a Zucchini, and a couple different kinds of Basil. It will be a wonderful garden and it will be nice to have this summer. πŸ˜€

Otherwise there is not much else going on.. we’re just counting down to Monday, the big 28 week milestone!! My Doctor mentioned to me this morning that if the baby decided to come now, she wouldn’t stop it. It’s scary to think about, but also a relief. Things feel “safer” now and there is not sense of doom and gloom in the air. I know things can change in an instant, but I don’t feel that the baby will come early, I think he’ll behave and come at the right time, when he’s big and strong enough to handle what’s ahead of him. He’s already proved he’s tough like his mama. πŸ˜‰ I’m planning to get through the end of June and then let the Doctors decide what’s best. Who knows, maybe they’ll let me go another week?? Or he’ll be big enough that they’ll take him a little early. It’s just something no one can plan for.

4 thoughts on “5 Weeks or 840 Hours

  1. Hi Heidi!

    Just wanted to let you know Matt & I are thinking about you and praying for you and the baby. You seem so positive and so calm – I don’t know how you do it! Best of luck with everything!

    • Thanks Laura! I wish you guys were here! Mom and Jan just were up playing some games with me for most of the morning and early afternoon. Hopefully we can see you and Matt next time.

      I think that staying positive has a lot to do with the good results I’m getting. And when you’re in a situation like this, you just do what you have to do and don’t even think about it.

  2. All you are missing are onions for your salsa garden, and maybe chili peppers. Call it a spaghetti sauce garden instead! Our prayer group here are hard at work for you, Adam and Wyatt. Love you sooo much…

    xxx, Aunt Mary

    ps. Who do you know in Paris and – would it be Prague?

    • Yes, onions, I wanted to plan green onions. Although it wouldn’t be too late to plant some regular onions. I think the veggie garden is pretty crammed.. so there’s always next year! I love spaghetti.. mmmmmmmmm

      I am not sure who is checking in from overseas besides you.. Maybe Adam’s friend Michael.. he’s in Germany and visiting us at the end of June.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

