Feeling Fresh!

On Saturday I finally had the opportunity to spend some quality time at the barn. It’s been 4 weeks since I’ve ridden and spent any time out there. Sheesh!! And as Pat says… “Idle hooves are the devil’s playground…”

The vet was scheduled to come out to take Coggins from everyone and ended up running about 1.5 hours late. Oh well! I was a good time… about 14 of us were all crammed in the arena with our horses. Charm was vigilantly defending our territory while I was riding her bareback. Most anyone who would come near.. ears back.. snake face. It goes to show, that since I haven’t spent time with her see has become a little more dominant and feels she needs to be in control. I’m hoping to get back to my normal routine and spend time at the barn at least 2 days each week. Other than that, she was good for me and I was definitely sore the next day from the little riding I did! We ended up taking a nice ride out in the snow throughout the woods.. Amelia and Rebel joined us and we had a great time! πŸ™‚ Charm was feeling pretty fresh.. at one point.. we came up to another horse and she ended up giving that horse a nip in the butt and reared up a little.. SASSY!! Then upon our return, when next to the pasture, something must had been in the air because she started to wheel around and throw her head up. I felt a buck coming on and quickly slid off to avoid an incident. As I looked up, the herd was running over to join us by the fence line. That must have gotten her excited. I backed her up with a “What the heck are you thinking?” type attitude. Then I had another small delima. How the heck was I going to get back on? I was not able to just jump on or find anything to boost me up. So… while looking around I noticed the snow was not deep at all by the tilled field. I walked her over and asked her to lay down and give me a lift. She obliged and off we went. It was pretty cool.. I haven’t really laid her down like that on the “trail”.. it’s good to know she’s ok with it. Rebel seemed to be a perfect gentleman for Amelia.. it was so much fun!

Upon talking with Jackie, I am considering showing Charm this spring in a Showmanship class. I think it would be really good for us and help us get exposed to different situations and a show environment. Charm needs a confidence builder when she’s in a new place and become the calm and willing partner she normally is for me. Jackie is a pro when it comes to showing and has agreed to teach us all the showmanship stuff. Here is a video that shows what we’d be learning (this routine is at the “world” level). All this stuff I currently do with Charm . It’s interesting, because most of the maneuvers are things that were required to pass the old Level 1 and 2. So I think, we’ll be well on our way and not starting out from scratch. I’ll just need to refine my body and hand positions, and all the technical stuff that they expect. The only thing I see being something we’ll have to learn and teach is asking Charm to “set up“. She tends to rest a back foot all the time. It’s a good thing we have a few months to practice and get this working. She’s smart and we have good communication, so most of it will be me learning where to put my body and energy to ask her correctly.

Another thing I’ve decided to do is finally register her. I have all the paperwork, but never sent it in. It will make her more valuable to register her and will allow us to show Pinto-PtHAΒ  (she can’t be registered as a Paint because of missing bloodlines 😦 ). I always had the name Lightnings Lil Charm picked out as her registered name.. hopefully I can get it.

One thought on “Feeling Fresh!

  1. You were sore too! I was careful sitting down for a day there but totally worth it! πŸ™‚
    That was a great time! Thank you for waiting for me Heidi!

    Yay to registering and showing, I’m prety positive you’ll rock!

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

