The Alaska Ride

The Alaska Trail Ride was scheduled for Saturday and Sunday. Sofie and I contemplated going both days since it’s the last big ride of the season. Well, Saturday it ended up raining buckets, I think the Lake had something to do with it. Anyway, the ride wasn’t canceled, but we decided not to go since it was so soggy and sloppy. The annoying thing was about 10 miles away it was sunny and beautiful!

So I decided to take a lesson since I had the time and Shirl was around. We played with Level 3/4 riding tasks and were actually quite successful. Lessons are so productive for Charmer and I, we tune into each other and some cool things happen. Plus watching Shirl push us to do more and more just shows how far we’ve come. Note to self: TAKE LESSONS MORE OFTEN!

So the trail ride was postponed until the next day and it turned out to be a really nice day… a little windy, but it kept the bugs away. I have to say how much I LOVE my saddle. I do not get sore in it at all.. I get stiff from sitting in the same position for a few hours, but my butt and legs don’t get sore. Charm did well on the ride. She got a little emotional when Schatzi and Dutch left the group to take a short cut home (Charm: “Uh, why aren’t we following them.. um.. Heidi??”) so we had a little bit of a trotting session to keep her thinking about me and not about her pasture mates that had just left. It only lasted a few minutes and we worked through it just fine.

I’m so glad we got to go on this ride, especially now since the weather has turned and it’s all cold and windy out. Sofie rode Bella and they did amazing!! All around a really good day spent outside with awesome people. šŸ˜€

FallRide

The best part about this pic? We're all Parelli people!

HeidiSofie

Happy trail riders in a beautiful meadow!

One thought on “The Alaska Ride

  1. Where did summer go? It just flew by, it looks like a lovely day for a trail ride and it looks like it was a blast!

    Charm is so much bigger than Bella!

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

