Vroom Vroom

That was me last weekend minus the ugly braid and chaps.

I am now a licensed motorcyclist!! The class over the weekend was great, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn how to ride. The bikes in the class (I refer to them as Clown Bikes) were cute little bikes (here’s the one I rode, although it was probably a 1990s model) I ended up doing really well and passed everything. Our class had 8 girls in it and only 4 guys.

heidisbike

Heidi's Harley

Last night I took my bike out for it’s maiden voyage. As Alvin would say.. “HOLY NUTS!!” It was extremely different than the class bike and freaked the heck out of me at first. It’s twice the weight and 4 times the engine size!! I had to practice in a parking lot at first to get the hang of the clutch and everything else. Then I followed Adam all around our neighborhood for about 20 minutes. We did TONS of turns and I was shifting as much I could to practice everything. By the time we returned home, I had gotten a lot better and gained some confidence.. it’s going to take some practice to get really good at it all, but it’ll come fast I’m sure. Adam keeps saying it’s a tricky bike to ride because of the S&S carburetor and the drag bars. Basically, if you “put-put” around on it, the carb will fill up with gas and it’ll start to backfire. It’s made to be a sporty and to be driven so. Well not yet for me anyway. Hopefully it will get more fun the more I drive.. it’s just that driving in town around traffic is nervewracking right now.

2 thoughts on “Vroom Vroom

  1. congrats Heidi, that is just too cool. Nice harley you have. We’ll have to get together and go for a ride this summer.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

