Prayer Please?

My father-in-law was in a motorcycle accident with his girlfriend last Friday night. We got a call from the paramedic around 11pm letting us know what was going on and that they were en route to Green Bay. Not the type of call you want to get on a nice, relaxing Friday evening. We just had gotten finished with a wonderful motorcycle ride and kabobs on the grill with our dear friends Ellen and Travis (Frankie’s mom and dad). It was the first warm day of the year.. 74˚= perfect. I was getting to bed early in order to attend the Midwest Horse Fair the next morning.. getting up at 5:30am and also driving, so had to be on the ball, awake and ready to go. Adam went up to the hospital a little after midnight and called me at 1am to give me the scoop. I didn’t sleep much. His dad has a fractured neck, 7 broken ribs and road rash on his right arm. His girlfriend suffered a broken neck, 4 broken ribs, a broken collar bone, bruised lung, lacerated liver, road rash (same arm) and sprained ankle. The neck injuries are not the type that left them paralyzed.. thank the Lord. They are in neck braces and have to be very careful not to damage the area any further. The girlfriend just got out of the ICU yesterday and my father-in-law will be leaving the hospital today. The plan is for my sister-in-law to take care of him for the next two weeks and bring him to his therapy sessions since she lives only 2 blocks from the hospital. After that, Adam and I will take him for 2 weeks.. so we’ll have to get the guest room ready and comfy. Luckily my job is flexible enough that I can take off and bring him to therapy if I need too.. also Adam has half days and most of his days off will be during the week, so he’ll also be around.

What had happened was a deer jumped out in font of them on the highway.. dad swerved to miss the deer and dumped the bike and both of them went flying. No helmets. We are not sure who found them, or how long they were laying there before someone happened to come upon the accident since they were both unconscious. They are lucky to be alive and also lucky not to be paralyzed. One more bad thing about this whole situation, is neither of them have insurance. Adam’s dad was just laid off of work several weeks before this happened. So we are not sure what is going to happen with that.. Adam’s sister is working on getting Medicaid for dad and I am not sure what his girlfriend is going to do.

I’m sharing all of this to ask for prayers.. we need them right now! Also to let everyone know what’s been going on lately too.

Other than that, things are going well. The week from HELL is over and this week is SO much better. I’m looking forward to the warm weather this Thursday, Friday and Saturday… if you need me, I’ll be by my horse. 😉

One thought on “Prayer Please?

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

