The Quest: Tips for Success while Eating Out

Eating out while you are diligently trying to loose weight is probably one of the hardest things. When you eat out you are faced with temptation of your favorite foods in an environment that you will most likely give in and “mess up” your diet.

The truth is, eating healthy is hard! Here are some things that help me stay on track.

A) Don’t eat out. If you can’t handle the pressure then don’t go there. Avoid eating out until you have the will power to NOT have 1,000+ calorie meal that your are so craving at the moment. It’s not worth it.. if you give in once, it’s just going to be easier to give in the next time. This diet is meant to establish a new eating pattern.. not eat healthy for two months, loose the weight and then go back to eating crappy again. IT WON’T WORK!

B) Choose healthy options. As you know, most fast food is really bad and if you are craving fries and and burger.. avoid those places. Instead, go to a sub shop (Subway, Quiznos, Cousins, etc.) A lot of fast food places now offer healthy options: Salads, soup, fruit. Which brings me to my next point…

C) Do your research. The internet brings us the wonderful opportunity to look up the nutritional value of our favorite menu items. If you know you’ll be going to Chili’s for dinner, go online and look through the menu. I just did this on Friday. I went toΒ  Dietfacts.com and searched the Chili’s menu. I then proceeded to pick out 3 or 4 menu items that met my needs for dinner. I decided on the Citrus Fire Chicken and Shrimp Fajitas and ended up bringing over half home for lunch the following day (it was REALLY good). The healthier option would have been the Guiltless Grill Grilled Salmon but considering that I brought half home with me, I probably only had around 450 calories. You will be amazed how awful most of this food is for you: Exhibit A (that’s just the burger.. fries are even more), Exhibit B, Exhibit C (HOLY COW!!!).

Other things – eat the healthier things on your plate first.. then you won’t fill up on the other stuff. If you have soup, try to make it broth based and avoid cream. Vinaigrette Dressings have less calories too.

One thought on “The Quest: Tips for Success while Eating Out

  1. Very good tips! I know I always fall prey to eating out unhealthy. I’ll keep these in mind next time I go out, thanks! Aren’t the calories in fast food insane! definitely a WOW factor!

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

