It’s My Turn..

..to gripe and complain. I don’t have a lot to complain about.. but sometimes if feels good to vent.

Often I wonder what the point of my horsemanship is. Why do I do what I do? I work 40+ hours a week, take care of a house, husband and dog and see a lot of friends throughout the week. That is all fine and dandy.. but is there really room for my horsemanship?? I pay to board Charm, I’m in the Savvy Club, I spend ‘x’ amount of hours a week studying and I lead a horse group. I would love to be riding EVERY day, but it’s just not possible. This year l used my horse trailer maybe 5 times and only went on 1 trail ride. It just sucks! I want to do so much more, but time and money just always get in the way.

So what is comes down to is this: What is the point of all my hard work? What is the story line? I hate the idea of riding for no reason, for no ‘real’ goal except for my own pleasure. I feel I have worked hard, but just stay secluded in an arena or around the property. I have thought about showing locally at a stock horse show, but I am a big chicken. Besides, I get too competitive. Maybe I just need to suck it up and do it..

2 thoughts on “It’s My Turn..

  1. I think in a way you already know the answer. You need to set a new goal. I think your ready for a to work toward competing but that dosen’t mean you have to dive in head first. Another thing to think of is what a great spokesperson for Parelli you would be. People would see how happy and willing Charm is to work and they might learn about Parelli, making the world a little better for horses. Stephanie Burns says we need to go a little out of our comfort zone in order to learn, right? Competitiveness is a good thing as long as you are savvy about it. Don’t forget you have a supportive hushband and friends to help you along the way!

  2. Thanks Amelia.. you’re right. I am just afraid of making a mistake and that my perfectionism will get in the way of having fun. Well, I’ve got all winter to practice and think about it.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

