Making Hay While the Sun Shines

Just yesterday the farmer next to my work cut his 2nd crop… yikes!!! Summer is flying by. I have helped Randy and Shirley make hay a few times. It’s a lot of hard work and fun too. I am usually the one that stands in the wagon and catches the bails that come off of the hay binder with the hook, then I make sure the hay is neatly lined up and stacked. You have to be quick in order to catch the next bail coming off..

My Aunt and Uncle were visiting from PA and they enjoy going through all of the old pictures of my family. They came across these from around 1916 of my Great-Grandparents and Great-Great-Grandparents an other relatives haying at their farm outside of DePere, WI. Could you imagine throwing loose hay that high and it saying on? And it looks like they dressed up for haying too… 😉

I am planning to get out by Charmer after work today. I bought a 45′ line from the Tour Stop last weekend. Since they were out, I am patiently waiting for it to be shipped to my house (free shipping). I hope to spend some time with Java too.. I need to make a decision about him…


2 thoughts on “Making Hay While the Sun Shines

  1. Love the old pictures!!! My dad gave me some like that too. I plan on making a collage on a wall in my office with all the horses with past and present family members old and new along with the Emerson poem. What a family legacy that the love of horses can bring! At least these days it’s for fun and not just work. It’ll be like a scap album hung on the wall.

  2. I also love old pictures! It’s good to remember..

    Your collage sounds really neat! I think I remember you telling me about it when we first met.

What's on your mind? Let's discuss!

